Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone embarked on wiring the car manually? Just buying a fuse block and spools of wire?

I'm looking for an estimate of how much wire I'll need and some recommendations on wire gauges. I'm an electrical engineer, so I can do the math... just seeing what has worked well in the past.

Typically, how many circuits are used? With so few high current items in the car, it seems like a seven circuit block would be more than sufficient.

·
Premium Member
5,159 Posts
Have fun but for no more than the FFR harness costs I'd go that route. I think you would be better off in the long run.

·
ASE Master Tech
136 Posts
Hi, yeah I thought about doing that myself, and then I found aaw and got a harness with headlight and dimmer switch for less than $300. I can say that the harness worked well, but it did require some custom {and creative} wiring. It's just not plug and play like I hear the RF harness is. I only used 5 to 7 circuits but I dont know if I could have bought a fuse block, wire, connectors, loom, and switches for as little as the aaw harness cost. Just my experience. Good luck with the wiring.

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the quick feedback. Can you send me a link to the AAW harness you used? I just know that I'm going to be adding a wealth of switches and controls and I can't rationalize spending $500 to hack up the pretty FFR harness.

Thanks,

·
Registered
2,372 Posts

·
Junior Charter Member
1,637 Posts
Pick up a copy of Street Rodder Mag, many sources listed.
EZ Wiring 12 Circuit-$155
21 Circuit-$165
21 Circuit Kit-$185

Keep It Clean starting at $199

Gear Head $135 to $159

Rod Parts $135

Hope this helps
Tim

·
FFR Builder
349 Posts
Project,