Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Wondering the do's and don'ts, and the wills and won'ts of putting a 351 Cleveland in an MK4. I know FF doesn't really say they support them. Any input would be helpful!!
Higgy

·
Registered
486 Posts
My understanding is that they have a taller deck height and thus don't fit under the standard hood or maybe it is harder to do.
b-

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My understanding is that they have a taller deck height and thus don't fit under the standard hood or maybe it is harder to do.
b-
I believe the deck Is shorter by a bit at 9.2. The Windsors I think were 9.4 and then 9.5". Again I am no expert that's why im looking for answers!!

·
Charter Member
1,155 Posts
My friend has a Mk 2 with the 351c. Fits just fine, although the d/s seems tighter than mine with a 351w.
Rob

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Great post by you by the way....in 2009!!! With a KEY statement!

W vs C

The both have the same bore stroke dimensions, and there is the possibility that an odd bolt or two is common between them, other than being made by Ford, nothing else is the same.

The C is a derivite of the 385 series blocks (if memory serves correctly) and is still the engine of choice "Down Under", but no where else. The C also had the early 4-bolt mains to beef up the block for more power. It is physically larger, and heavier that the W.

The W is the engine that was stuck in most of the Ford products that had the 351 designation. This block has the after market support with a vast array of parts and components and is the one used mostly when you hear about Ford small block stroker kits.

I don't have the data on HP or years that they were used, I'm sure there will be another post or two that will cover that. If I had a C, I'd consider using it, to be different, but thinking of servicability (parts and service) I'd go with the W.

Just one person's opinion.