Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Charter Member
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I hope I am asking this question in the right area. I know that this is old hat for most of you. I am about to order my Mark III, and am trying to decide on Engine config. At first I wanted to go with something as close to an original as possible-427 BB Side oiler. Then as I looked around I discovered the Roush 402IR/427IR which use a 351 SB as a base and is fuel injected with Weber style stack induction. At the end of the day I want something with around 500HP+- and is absolutely turn key, Dyno tested and broken in, and comes with a good warranty. i want to spend somewhere around 10-15k, but will spend more if that what it takes. I really like the idea of Fuel Injection over Carburated.

My Questions are: Which suppliers are the ones I should be contacting? What are the pros and cons of these two engine choices? I want a quality engine in the end. I am not planning to race, but have racing experience and probably will do a few track days and autocrosses. I am one of those guys that like to cut butter with a chain saw!

Thanks.

·
FFCobra Master Craftsman
1,123 Posts
FMS 351W. Talk to Mike Forte or Max at Five Star Ford. Top it off with one of Chris Richards Mass-Flo EFI Systems and you are DONE...you will have a rock solid looks-like-carbed but runs like injected workhorse. Well within your budget, too.

·
Premium Member
5,526 Posts
Originally posted by corbrastang:
install the stack system.
yes, Yes, YES... Add the stacks if you can.
"No replacement for displacment"

·
FFCobra Craftsman
711 Posts
1. FMS 392 crate with Mass-Flow injection.

2. 2000 DOHC 4.6 Ford Crate.

Raymond

·
Registered
3 Posts