Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2012 treated me well and I decided in 2013 I would like to start racing. I would like to do SPEC racing but my ego cannot fit in a Miata. But, my wallet can't swing $150k++ either.
I want a sexy looking car that I can feel good about, that wont break the bank to build, race and maintain.

Now, I am a TOTAL novice when it comes to classes. In a perfect world, I want everyone racing the same car, much like a Go-Cart. But, with the holidays being the time I've spent researching, I cant reach anyone for guidance!

My target: 15-35k for the car.
Under 2k a month to maintain racing.
Popular Class in Texas (Lots of Competition)
**I've got a mechanic I love who gives me great pricing

Predicaments:
818 - Seems perfect but no competition yet. Not enough cars.
GTM- Seems like there is a class for this but I think I will be spending over 60k if I am SUPER LUCKY and I think this will be very pricey to maintain/race. If I could maintain this and race it effectively, I would spend the extra money cause its so Darn Sexy.
Daytona - I prefer this as a happy medium but don't know what class it fits if any.
Challenge Car- I always wanted a Cobra but as a daily driver.

ALL ADVICE WELCOME! I'm still undecided as to SCCA vs. the others as well!

·
just another builder
8,238 Posts
NASA SpecZ

Don't uderestimete the spec Miata...they can be a lot of fun....they are fast on the inside

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Long talk...some direction

Thanks for the info gentlemen. I spoke to Gordon Levy for close to 2 hours.

Looks like I am leaning towards getting a GTM:evil:, he suggested setting it up with an LS1 and racing in the ST2 division at NASA.

Yes, I will exceed the budget, but will stay within the racing/maintenance budget with the less powerful engine. And I can grow the car overtime and with increased budget!

Nothing is in stone yet, but I like this plan for now.