Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Banned
5,895 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never used a hand riveter before, so me and my dad were playing around with one today (to give you an idea how much we suck with them, it took us 4hrs to figure out how to do 4rivets :eek: )

2 questions about them for anybody who uses them:

- is it normal to have to pump (i.e., open/close) the handle 2-3 times before the tail end of the rivet snaps off?

- is the tail end of the rivet supposed to snap off and remain locked in the riveter, such that in order to remove it you have to take off the first (long) nosel, take off the second nosel (the one where the gripping teeth are located in) and shake the tail-end of the rivet out, then re-assemble?? It just doesn't seem right to have to take apart the riveter to get the tail-end out every time you use it......

edit: Problem solved a few posts down below - turns out I had to oil (wd-40) the teeth in order to get the rivet to properly seat and release.

[ February 23, 2007, 02:03 AM: Message edited by: EFNFAST ]

·
FFCobra Fanatic
3,378 Posts
yes

no. I have had very few get stuck (even in my 4.99 harbor freight special).

·
FFCobra Craftsman
1,297 Posts
Yes pumping the handle will depend on the length of rivets as well. Make sure you are using the right "die: for the rivets you need. Some times you can insert another rivet and push the old shank out.

Mike O.

·
Registered
1,888 Posts
I did my whole car by hand and it is not a big deal. I have access to borrow any tool I need from work and did not bother to get a pnumatic riviter. Yes some of them take more than 1 pull, it depends on how long the rivit is. If you don't bend them they will fall out when you open the handles. After the holes are drilled you can do them in a few seconds each.
David W

·
Banned
5,895 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Originally posted by David Williamson:
If you don't bend them they will fall out when you open the handles.