Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Too Cheap to paint!
6,458 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had a new sensation this Fall when coming up the Esses at Watkins Glen. New engine combo has the car much faster. When arcing out onto the back straight, the car had some instability coming from the back at roughly 135MPH full throttle. I do have a front spoiler and small "winglets" on the front corners, and a small diffuser under the car in back.

I have checked the rear suspension carefully, all mounts, brackets, components are good, nothing broken or loose. Even had just corner-weighted the car. All seems mechanically good. Never had this before, though also never carried this much speed up the Esses.

Could I have an imbalance, so that the front is pushing down too much?

Reactions: Robert D

·
8,275 Posts
Remember when Audi added the little pop up spoiler to the TT because over a certain speed the back end got light and caused a couple of high speed accidents? Similarly some drag cars have what looks like a flat extension of the trunk lid to reduce rear lift at speed. Perhaps you are experiencing a similar thing. Maybe a small lip spoiler across the trunk lid or something similar might help? Or perhaps your diffuser is 'stalling' at the higher speeds? Might be tough to diagnose without access to a wind tunnel.

·
Registered
1,796 Posts
I think Shelby had Cobras way above 135 w/o problems.......
For what its worth I had the same problem with my 427 1968 Vet at 140. .I solved it by keeping it below 140.
Thinking its ALL about aerodynamics .

·
Charter Member
1,240 Posts