Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had a bumpsteer problem since day one. Here's my set up... Mark II, stock spindles and LCAs, Flaming River 18:1 rack, offset bushings, Forte's bump steer kit. Also, it's probably good to note that I am a steering novice.

I built a bumpsteer measuring tool, springs/shocks are removed, wheels on the ground on layers of wax paper.

Installing the tie rod from below using no spacers, with the rack at its lowest position produced a lot of bump-out. I was getting bump-out during compression for the entire travel of the suspension, so I figured I'd need to raise the outer end of the tie rod, relative to the inner end (per the info on the FAQ page]. So, I moved the rack to its highest position and mounted the tie rod from above, with no spacers. This reversed the problem and produced a whole bunch of bump-in [i.e. the outer end of the tie rod was too high, relative to the inner end]. So, I can't get the tie rod end high enough with the rack down, or low enough with the rack up. In other words, I can't find a solution. I figure I must be doing something wrong.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
- Steve

·
FFCobra Fanatic
2,600 Posts
Did you make sure that the rack is centered relative to the lower control arms. I pulled the boots back and centered the inner joints to the control arms, even on both sides. If not centered, then one side will swing a longer arc than the other. I don't know how much this will help but it can't hurt.

·
Registered
690 Posts
My Mk I, w/'93 spindles, bumpsteer was the same. Looked like the tie rod wanted to be "in" the steering arm. I added offset rack bushings to raise the rack, then put the tie rods on top of the arms.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I centered the rack by marking steering wheel travel limits and then putting the wheel at the midpoint. May not be exact, but it should be close.

- Steve

·
Premium Member
16,561 Posts