Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Building
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering what the experiences are for spray painting the engine bay panels instead of powder coating? I am trying to get a production look so I don't want to polish them or just leave them plain. Also if anyone has done this did they prime or just spray straight over cleaned aluminum (aluminium for any English speaking readers
) with a flat or semi gloss black? And finally, are there black rivets out there or has anyone had good luck painting the rivets and then installing?

Thanks

·
FFCobra Master Craftsman
8,694 Posts
Intended as a frequent driver, I painted mine with Rustoleum Hammercoat, available at any Home Depot or True Value store. The real attraction with the Hammercoat paint is the textured finish that can be touched up with a Q-tip if scratched or nicked (and this will happen while building!) and it does not show the touch up.

I cleaned the aluminum, sanded with 100 grit paper to give it some tooth, cleaned again, primed and painted. Primer is not required with this particular paint but it can't hurt.

I do have to say that there is nothing like polished aluminum, though.

Regarding rivets, I actually would leave them aluminum. I think they'd look good offset against the painted panels.

·
Registered
2,462 Posts
Sure why not, when your on a budget. Plus road grime will make it look bad real fast anyway.
I polished just the top parts that are very visable when the hood is up and painted the rest.

Before Photo....

Then like DMW, sanded and primed, then painted with gloss engine black.
After Photo...

When it's all done, not much is seen. I did not paint or get black rivits. I think it looks ok for them to show up, as you can see....
so to me if the frame is not done special along with polishing the whole engine, why not just paint. To each his own..chrome and polish it all or some of it or none of it. :D ;)