Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Pro FFR Builder and Moderator
14,618 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hired a kid a couple of months ago and we have been teaching and training him to work on cars. He previously only worked construction. All the guys here have been with me for many years.
Today we inducted him into the family.
My shop is located in a complex with a bunch of speciallty car shops. One works on Jags, one on Vettes, and one that does Zagato bodied italian cars.
I had everyone in the complex in on it.
I sent our newbe to look for a 3/8 wobble pin this morning to fix a fuel pump. He just returned after about an hour looking through everyone's bolt bins. The look on his face was priceless. I had the last guy he was sent to let him in on it.

Dwayne- Welcome to the family.

·
Senior Charter Member
238 Posts
Thats pretty good Gordon... made me laugh, ah the good ole days... I remember when I used to turn wrenches for a living...on the slow days we would call the local high school "gear head" at the pep boys or R&S Strauss & place our order...of course 2 hours later we'd get the call that they didnt have a cap & rotor set for a 6.2L gm diesel....... hahahahaa Pat V

·
2,372 Posts
I have a 3/8 wobble pin,but it's for a counter rotating marine engine! :rolleyes:

·
2,203 Posts
If we did that in CA the guy would be out on Workers' Comp for emotional distress for six months. Then he would sue us for maintaining a hostile work environment and retire. Oh the good 'ole days when work was fun! Great story Gordon.

·
Cobra Colorist
5,632 Posts
OH YEAH! How about send him out for some "relative bearing" grease. Thats always a good one...one of them NAVY jokes.

·
Premium Member
10,831 Posts
We do this every year with the "summer help" kids.

Usually send them after a 2 X 4 stretcher, elbow grease, or a skyhook.

·
Snake Charmer
3,464 Posts