Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
18,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This came up somewhere else. I think I know the answer. But I'm not a thermodynamics expert, so I could be wrong.

The question is, do you have to change air pressure according to the altitude you're driving at? I'm thinking, no.

When you measure the pressure in your tires, what are you actually measuring? If the gauge reads "0", is there actually 0 psi in the tire? No. "0" would be a vacume, no pressure at all. You are mesuring the differance between ambient air pressure, and tire pressure. At standard temp and pressure, 41 psi actually means 58.7psi. (or something close to that).

Lets say you are in death valley (-200MSL), and fill your tire to 32 psi. Then you ride to my town (+6500MSL). What happens to your tire pressure? It should go up, Lets say to 37psi (let a physics whiz figure out he exact number). Now you have to let air out to compensate and get back to 32psi. So you let out 5 psi. Does it make sense to let out another 5psi, and set the pressure at 27?

So if the tire manufacturer recommends 32psi, to me that means 32psi greater than ambient air pressure for the tire to operate correctly. So it should be 32psi regardless of altitude, weather, or ambient air temperature.

Of course, that's just my opinion. I could be wrong. What do you think?

·
15,282 Posts
It's my opinion that you should inflate to the recommended pressure, regardless of altitude. I believe your analysis of readings being relative to the ambient pressure is correct. A zero reading indicates a flat with pressure equal to the surroundings, not a vacuum in the tire, as you point out.