Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
FFR Master Builder
4,170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been driving my car for 4 years now and I had something happen to me today that has never happened before. I am coming up to a rotary with a car about 3 car lengths in front of me. Push the clutch in to down shift (luckily) and apply the brakes. The motor revs and is bouncing on the rev limiter. My eyes almost pop out of my head because I know there is a car just in front of me. So I push on the brake pedal for all she is worth to try and stop my car from ramming the car in front of me. I come to a screeching hault right in the middle of a rotary, in traffic, and still bouncing off the MSD rev. limiter. Well I had the night before bought a new pair of sneakers and they must be a little bit wider than what I am used to. I had nicked the gas pedal while pushing on the brake pedal. Thank God I had the clutch in when I pushed on the brake pedal with all my strength or I would have taken off like a rocket into the car in front of me. I was enjoying a nice and relaxed sunny drive and after this I was shaking like a leaf.

·
1,672 Posts
Need some racing shoes - they are narrower-I have down the same thing on the track - gets scary.

Would make a great father's day gift - drop the hint ?

·
Premium Member
18,585 Posts

·
FFCobra Fanatic
1,918 Posts
I have done the same thing John. This was before i bent my pedals. Even after bending them i have had a few instances where i have hit both gas/brake at the same time

·
FFCobra Fanatic
1,384 Posts
Yikes John! Thank goodness it was a lesson that didn't involve the body shop. Thanks for sharing.

Mike M.

·
Junior Charter Member
3,131 Posts
Been there. Done that. Pedal bender solved the problem. By the way, you haven't lived until the loop of your shoe lace gets caught on the clutch pedal and you can't get you foot loose to hit the brake or clutch pedal. That was SCARY!! Pete :eek:

·
Charter Member
361 Posts