Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,841 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Experianceing drop in pressure at high rpm's. Pressure when engine fully warmed up is about 40-45 psi. But at rpm's > 3500, pressure drops to about 30psi. Thermostat opens at 180*. Doesn't matter what the oil temp is, so it's not cooler related.

Autometer electric gauge. Melling high volume/standard pressure pump. Billit pump drive. Canton pick up. Canton 7qt road race pan. 10W-40 dino oil. Remote filter w/ -12 AN lines and russel full flow fittings. Oil cooler with thermostat.

I'm think that the HV pump is sucking the 7 qt pan dry??????? Planning on changing the pump this week end for a standard pressure/standard volume.

Any other thoughts?

·
Pro FFR Builder and Moderator
14,617 Posts
Your fine. As long as you have 20psi hot at an idle and 45-50psi hot at rpm you are in good shape. If you are really concerned, switch to Mobil1 15/50 synthetic.

·
7,134 Posts
Bob I'm no expert but over the last 4 years everyone has said the HV pump is a NO NO.

BUT Try running the car with an extra quart in it, I have heard many of the racers have done this to counter oil starvation in corners, with wet sump systems.

I see over 55 PSI idle cold start, 25 idle when HOT, and around 45-50 running hot. I do NOT have a remote oil filter on the 351W.

·
Premium Member
17,841 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by Gordon Levy:
Your fine. As long as you have 20psi hot at an idle and 45-50psi hot at rpm you are in good shape. If you are really concerned, switch to Mobil1 15/50 synthetic.
Well, that was my concern. When the rpm's go up the pressure drops to about 30psi. I have a case of 15W-50 sitting in the garage. Should I swap pumps to SP/SV? Because of the external lines and stuff I was reluctant to do that.