Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
FFCobra Craftsman
877 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Ok, I love customizing things for my car (I'm a Mechanical Engineer ... go figure). As there was no clear cut design for a hidden trunk hinge for the FFR, I designed one.

Now I'm offering them for sale. Check out this link for more information, Hidden Trunk Hinge .

They're onsale until this Friday, or 5 sell, whichever comes first.

Thanks for viewing ...

Oh yah, $5.00 for the first five on sale, and $10.00 for the regular priced hinges will be donated, in your name, to Team Jenny.

[ May 21, 2002, 01:39 PM: Message edited by: Venomous ]

·
Charter Member
488 Posts
I'd be interested in sets of peoples old, original, exterior hinges for $$? and shipping.

Wayne

·
FFCobra Craftsman
877 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I fabricate a bracket with two studs that is epoxy and glassed to the body, just behind the trunk hoop (easy to do when you’re doing the bodywork, and you already have the required materials). The body hinge point is then bolted onto this bracket (thus it can be removed at any time, if need be). I designed it to be attached to the body as it ensures the alignment of the trunk to body will always stay, and the alignment/installation during construction, is very (really, a perfect fit, I wish the hood was even close to being this easy … I thought about also doing the hood, but time has limited me). My original plan did not include retrofit capabilities, guess it could be done if I design/fab the body bracket to attach to the trunk hoop. However, when I first conceived the design, I ruled that option out due to the pro’s of the body mount. If you want to be the first, I’ll fabricate one for you. As for the holes, well that’s one of the big reasons I never considered the retrofit too much …

Regards,

·
FFCobra Fanatic
4,257 Posts