Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

· Registered
11,831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)

i have a standard Autozone/Duralast 5-year battery, whatever was stock for '90 Mustang GT. The car has 12,000 miles on it and the battery is almost 7 years old.

there have been a few slight hard/cold starts lately, so i went to Autozone and they did the parking lot test, it said bad battery. i can limp it a little longer, but i'd rather replace it.

the question is regarding idle, my headlights and dash lights are dim. this used to only happen if i had the heater or both footbox blowers blasting. i am surprised this would happen if i have a Powermaster alternator and non-HEI setup. the Voltmeter is always at 14V, maybe a little under 12V if i am at the stoplight with accessories blowing.

will a better battery such as an Optima really help me? the ads all talk about "cold cranking power", but starting is never a problem. nor is blasting the radio during tailgating and the engine not running

dim headlights at idle are not the end of the world, but if +$50 for an Optima battery will solve that problem i will Shirley spend it.

:icon22:

· 1st RFM/FFR Legacy Winner
28,717 Posts
You have two separate issues.

Dim lights and 12V are a result of low alternator output in relation to the electrical load requirement from the vehicle. Usually caused by too low alternator RPM using under drive pulleys.

A "good" stock capacity battery has enough CC amps to start the car. The dim lights and 12V scenario at idle will play out with a larger capacity battery as well.

Greg

· Registered
11,831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hi greg, i do have underdrive pulleys. i have so much power now i doubt the underdrive pulleys are making a dent, and i wonder if i should put the stock ones back on. i even still have the old length belt.

i think i will spring for the Optima battery as long as it fits in the tray.