Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone
I’m a newbie to the kit car scene but have recently been getting serious about building one myself . My question is , what are the advantages of a ford motor over the LS motors that the Blueprint company offers for the factory five Mk4 roadster. I’ve noticed many more builds with the Ford motors than the GM LS ones.
Tia

·
Premium Member
2,502 Posts
Ford tends to be popular because the original kits were based around a fox body mustang and design for the Ford 302. The kits are still geared for small block and big block Fords. Not to mention the community.

You find a lot of Shelby enthusists building this car. The original car from 1965 had a Ford. Shelby had a famous relationship with Ford.

The FFR roadster is based on the 1965 Shelby Cobra 427 powered by Ford.

Most of what you will read about and have access to will be based around Ford.

Probably some modifications will have to be made to accommodate a Chevy not sure if FFR offers the options to accommodate it from the factory.

Anything possible if you really wanted to use a Chevy I'm sure there is a way. Sounds like maybe blueprint took some of that process out based on what you said. It's all about custom and building to your likes.

Jason

·
Registered
33 Posts
If you are on the other forum, Steve (godadgo) put an LS in his Factory Five. He is always trying to recruit people to go to the "dark side" as he calls it. Not sure he is on this forum but he is a great guy, knowledgeable and very encouraging.

·
Registered
6,089 Posts
To add to what Jason said (all valid points) an LS powered Mk4 Roadster will have a lower resale value than if Ford powered. That's not saying anything remotely negative about the LS option. I'm building one of their hot rod trucks right now with an LS3. But the general public, including prospective buyers, usually expect a Ford powerplant in the Roadster.

·
Registered