Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to the ford engine world. i have been thinking of how i want my engine and i was thinking of building a twin turbo charged 302 anyone know who i can contact about this or how much it would cost.. im excited i get my donor next weekend and ill be on my way soon after that..
robert

·
Premium Member
18,135 Posts
Fortunatly, there are a number of companies making bolt on kits for Mustangs, both 4.6 and 5.0. Single, twin, intercooled, water cooled, street,race only. Lots of choices. Pick up a copy of one of the Mustang magazine and you'll find ads for them.

·
8,269 Posts
Read everything you can on the subject. There's a lot of magazine articles and books that will keep you busy for a while. Then sit and make a list of all the pieces that you need to complete the installation, both custom pieces and off the shelf pieces. As no one currently makes a kit for the FFR the custom pieces may be make or break for you. If you can do them yourself then it's hours more than dollars. If you have to get the hot side and cold side plumbing including the intercooler done custom the price will scare you big time. There are a few twin turbo FFR's around and I believe that they were all fabricated by the owners. If you can fab the parts yourself and go with a used/E-bay/junkyard combination then you can do it for a decent price. Check out some of the junkyard set ups on www.turbomustangs.com

·
Charter Member
584 Posts

·
Junior Charter Member
1,668 Posts
I am curious, why twin turbos?
It is my understanding you would use twin turbos (over a single) because you wished to minimize lag, not to produce maximum HP. As modern turbos have improved signinificatly in this area, I was wonder why twin, or why not a supercharger, which has no lag at all?

·
Banned
5,895 Posts
Originally posted by Tony Chiles:
check this post