Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
FFCobra Fanatic
738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no mechanic so please try to keep it simple for my 56 year old brain!!

OK, I need some tech advice.

Just received a 85 carb from a mustang forum member. It's the Holley 4180c.
He says it worked well when pulled.

I'm looking at a Edelbrock Performer RPM intake (non-EGR) for my 87 carb conversion. Also, a 1 wire Procomp dist with HEI on the dist cap.

Am I going in the right direction??? Any advice would be appreciated.

Also, the carb has 2 electrical connections. What are they for? One (a 2 wire for kick down, I believe (what's a kickdown???) the other is for an air conditioning disconnect at WOT??!! Am I correct with these assumptions? Can they be deleted on the conversion to carb?

Any guidance would be appreciated.

[ April 06, 2007, 06:42 PM: Message edited by: Duper ]

·
FFCobra Fanatic
12,975 Posts
Are we talking the stock carb that came on the 85 mustang? Probally not the best in way of a performance carb. Without seeing the carb thinking the elec. connections are one for choke,other for fast idle control for a/c equiped cars or maybe a bowl vent solenoid. If having a choice I would use aftermarket carb not OEM carb but it will work.

·
Junior Charter Member
626 Posts
I haven't looked at my stock carb in years, but I recall a 2-wire connector for the a/c cut-out (normally closed switch) and a single wire for the throttle kicker (a/c on). The choke should be pretty obvious on the other side of the carb. It's not a bad carb, but I'm with Hind Sight in suggesting you consider an aftermarket version. If you're emissions regulated however, it can be made to work fine. If you do go aftermarket, keep the choke stat from the '85. It works much better than the Holley issued choke stat and they are expensive.

·
5,559 Posts