Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Charter Member
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a AIR HYDRAULIC RIVETER from Harbor Freight. I have never used one of these before and may have made a booboo. The manual that came with the riveter was very sparse. When I first tried to prime the unit, I did not realize (and still may not) that I should only fill the top section with hydraulic fluid. So I proceeded to fill the entire piston area. The fluid ran out immediately. I poured out the fluid and cleaned up the mess I made. Left enough flouid to fill the neck area. The riveter will not pull a rivet thru completely. I tried pushing the rivet in again like I have done with a hand riveter when I don't get enough stroke, but it seems to me the unit is not generating enough pull power. The rivet head stays on.

I am using a small 4 hp pancake style compressor. The regulator shows 110 psi. The riveter requires 90 psi. I guess my compressor may not be up to this task. Anyone using one of these tools with a small compressor?

I don't want to claim the unit defective yet since I'm not sure I know how to use it correctly.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks

·
FFCobra Craftsman
1,021 Posts
I don't remember priming the unit I just put a couple of drops in the intake like normal. I've pulled all kinds of rivets with it no problems.

·
Charter Member
1,249 Posts
My units comes with different sized fittings for different diameter rivits. Are you sure that the fitting on the front of the unit that you slide the rivit into is the correct size? If it is too large for the O/D of the rivit you are using it will not work.

·
Junior Charter Member
565 Posts
I didn't know you were supposed to prime it. I've only used mine once, and it pulled one of those big honking rivets so quickly that it almost made my head spin.