Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the community and need some help. I have acquired a mk III from a family friend. The car is complete however as a part of the deal I was required to deconstruct and replace the frame. This was requested not due to structural issues, rather liability concerns in the transfer.
Does anyone have an uncompleted project for an mkIII or know of where I can locate one. Very few of the parts can be transferred over to the updated kit per FFR.
Any help is appreciated. This deconstruct and rebuild will be a great project for Father/Son/Grandson. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
367 Posts
I am sorry, but this does not make any sense to me. Pretty much they asked for you to take apart a fully built car because of a perceived liability issue. I am not a lawyer, but I cannot believe that replacing the frame would help here. I really hope you did not pay much for it. I get that this was a part of the deal and I will keep an eye out for a MKIII unfinished kit for you.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
I agree w/ Brastic. these kits are bought and sold all the time after they've been built. Can you clarify what liability issues are of concern here?

·
Registered
7,673 Posts
Make me #3. That makes no sense. The frame is fully fabricated at Factory Five, so a replacement frame wouldn't be any more reliable.

·
Junior Charter Member
768 Posts
I believe they made minor changes along the way so you’d need to get a frame close in # to the one you’ve got.

Wouldn’t the ownership go with the frame?
That could open some ugly legal issues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #7