Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone.

I am writting from Greece, and I am completely new here.
Please let me waste some of your time, by telling you some things about me. I am 35 yo. I am a surgeon and live in Greece. I ve always loved cars, own a honda del sol (2seater targa). Recently i got infected with the ffr roadster. I just love it and keep learning more about it. I would love to build one of those one day. As far as i understand, 3 thing are needed. Time, knowhow and money. Leavign the latter outside of the equation, i lack both the knowledge and the time. Lets say I start the project now with an intention of working during my weekends, I will finish in a couple of years. The thing is, I know nothing (and I mean nothing) about engines and cars. I mean I can change oils but thats about it.
I dont even have a wrench.
I know that in life you can do everything if you set your mind to it, but I wanna be realistic about it. My job does come first (as it should) and I want this as a longrun hobby.
My question is: how do i get about it? How do I get started? What knowledge is there needed and how can i acquire it? Is it something i can do?
I mean if i buy the complete kit, and a brand new engine to go with it (i dont have a donor and its really hard to get one in greece) I am just gonna be looking at the boxes for the years to come?
Sorry for my lengthy post. U know now where the title comes from.
Any (and i mean any) additional info is highly appreciated.
Thanx you all, in advance

·
2,990 Posts