Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a (sort of) quick introduction:

Originally from Summerville, SC (just outside of Charleston). Lived there my whole life, from birth until I graduated high-school and went into the Navy.

I went to bootcamp in Great Lakes, IL, near Chicago, in February of 2000. Then I got to come home to Goose Creek, SC (also just outside of Charleston) for about a year and a half to go to the Navy's Nuclear A-School, Power School, and Prototype Training, to learn how to be a Nuclear Electronics Technician, and to learn how to operate nuclear reactors.

Then I got stationed in Norfolk, VA, on the U.S.S. Enterprise (CVN-65) from December 2001 to January 2006, when I'd had enough, and left the Navy. I did my six years I was obligated for, and was Honorably Discharged.

I managed to find a job working in Operations at a nuclear plant in South-Eastern Alabama, and moved 500 miles away from my hometown in Summerville, SC to Dothan, AL, and I've been here since March of 2006.

I've always LOVED AC Shelby Cobras, ever since I first saw one back in the 90's. I quickly discovered Factory Five Racing, and decided I had to have my own Cobra. Throughout my high-school and Navy days, I never had the time or money to take on such a serious project, but now that I'm settled in to a more permanent and lucrative career, it's time. I now have a job that pays well enough that I can do this, and I've waited far too long to build my Cobra.

So I started seriously looking into buying one, looking at the different options, getting a quote from FFR, etc. I bought a Mk IV build manual and read through it, page by page, to see what I was getting into. I started looking into engine builders and stuff, and just generally started planning it all out.