Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I starting bleeding my rear brakes and almost all my fitting are leaking.
Below are the pictures of my set-up and the flares I made. I have never done brakes before. Please help!

Jon

Auto part Fuel line Plumbing Metal Pipe

Product Metal

Auto part Engine Fictional character Wheel Metal

Automotive lighting Bumper Auto part Automotive exhaust Hand

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How tight did you make them? Use a brake line wrench to tighten if your not using one. You can apply alot more force with them.
Pretty tight. I do not have brake line wrenches but was afraid of stripping threads.
It must be my flares

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Make sure your flares match your fittings. Single flare vs double flare vs bubble flare. If you mismatch, they won't ever seal.

Don't ask me how I know... :)

·
Charter Member
6,164 Posts
buy prefabbed lines and ends from your local auto store. A lot easier and no leaks. Also, but a hand tube bender so you dont kink the tubing.

·
Geek
1,402 Posts
The others have already said it, but I think the 2 main things you can do are:
1) Use pre-flared lines from e.g. NAPA or Autozone. These come in standard lengths that you can couple together.
2) Buy or borrow a set of brake line wrenches. You'll need this anyway when you get to bleeding your brakes or else you'll run the risk of stripping the bleeder nuts.

·
Unconventional Builder
5,498 Posts
To me this was an area that I thought why spend the time and agg tring to become proficient at flaring just to do it once.
As stated above:
1. Get a set of brake wrenches

2. Use all the FFR lines that already have flares and ends, then buy prefabbed lines with ends from your local auto store. It takes a bit of figuring out what lengths to get but no leaks

3. Use hand tube bender so you dont kink the tubing. You can use 1" socket to form the coils at the M/C and calipers if needed.