Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Senior Charter Member
594 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My car is set up for the 351W block. It will be carburated. I want 450 to 500 HP and I want to be able to drive it to work with mild racing applications.

Please tell this non-engine guy what parts to order from the PAW book. I have an engine builder down here that will help me put it all together. Please don't go crazy with every single part, I'm not made out of money.

Many thanks in advance.

Tifford

·
3,760 Posts
Tifford, I have researched this ad nauseum, my wife thinks I need professional help because I've been studying it for over two years. I don't have the PAW catalog on the road with me, but I can tell you exactly what I'm going to do.

But...can you wait a few hours? I'm at work, to do it justice I'll wait till I get back to my hotel and type in the whole recipe.

AJ

·
Senior Charter Member
594 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can wait a long time. I'm going out the door to go vote right now. I'll be back on later tonight.

By the way, thanks for helping me out!

Tifford

·
Junior Charter Member
1,996 Posts
Tifford,

How come you want to go with PAW if you are not going to build the engine yourself? Their only real advantage over a crate engine is that you can save a few (really not much) bucks by assembling it at home. Once you figure in the machinist time etc, I bet you will come to the same $ result.

With a crate engine, many builders will give you a warranty (2 years or maybe more). Plus they will make sure that everything works and will know the parts that fit together.

As regarding the parts, a 351 would have to be pretty radical to meet your HP goal. I think you should look closer at either a 393 or 408 to reach those kind of numbers while still idling nicely in a traffic jam.