Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Junior Charter Member
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since posting my MK 3 for sale I've noticed others for sale with little or no interest by most members of the forum. I'm sure we all believe our individual cars/ builds are unique. I think we all know how much time, effort, and money are put into these cars. I also realize that we realistically cannot expect to recover the entire costs we spend. What I don't understand is why so many members appear to downgrade the value of these cars. By now I realize my perceived value of my car exceeds other's values, and will need to lower my "for sale" price. It would be really helpful if others chimed in about the under valuation of these cars. It should help all of us eventually. Thanks for letting me vent, Irwin.

·
Registered
23 Posts
I'm no expert on FFR cars value or have any experience building one. The Shelby Cobra has been my dream car since I was old enough to have a dream car. ( 10-12 years old, 52 currently ) Realized early on that I'd never own a real one probably so have been looking, watching, and reading about the FF cars since their inception and living some what near by Whibty Motors in G-boro, NC I talked about buying one off and on for years, and I have watched the classifieds for years, here, there, and every where. As with most any used car price there are lots of factors, but at the end of the day maybe you don't want or need to sell your car as bad as some of the other people and or they live in an area that already has a couple for sale near by so they have to compete on price or risk it taking a good while to sell. With most any "kit" car you are not going to get your labor back out of it. So if you have $45,000 in parts and have had it finished for 5 years and it took you 4 years to build ( some of these parts are now 9 years old some parts it doesn't matter some parts it does ) you'll be lucky to get $35,000 out of it as with any used car...U