Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new at this game...but love my cobra! Built last June ('04), 2400 miles on a 393 stroker and delivered to me 2 weeks ago. Drove it about 75 miles one way and the engine temp (water) never rose above 75 when on the highway. At stops, it will get to about 95+...depending on how long you sit. There is a manual fan (which I am thinking about converting to temp controlled)...but the question is...

Is my engine running too cold? Is there such a thing?

I know...better cold than hot and I haven't driven it yet in Aug. in Houston yet either. But I am just curious on comments.

Thanks and I hope to be out here more!

·
Registered
3,675 Posts
F or C, 95C is not bad at all.

If it is F it seems awful cold to me - an EFI car wants to be warmer for sure 180+F. The oil temp should be warmer to cook out the condensation. You might want to check out the thermostat - open all the time and it might be like your description. Mine is stuck open now :D cruising and it will not warm up it take a lot of start stop to get it warm.

·
6,654 Posts
Something sounds really funny. Is it possible that your gauges are in Celcius?

75C = 167F
95C = 203F

Those numbers would be right!

-R

·
Registered
796 Posts
Yes, its running too cold. Mine was running at 150F and I changed to a hotter thermostat and have gotten it up to 170F. Best operating temp for engine is 180-210. Running too cold is not good for it. Must be something wrong if its running that cold. Does it have a thermostat in it? Either that or you may have a faulty sender or gauge.

·
6,654 Posts
It sounds like it's running right about where it should then.

R :D

·
4,494 Posts