Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I am a solar/mechanical engineer with a solar power system on the roof and decided to build an electric roadster. My guess is that some of you might find this interesting while many will find using an electric motor in a roadster blasphemous. Would love to hear your opinions either way.

We will be using two parallel NetGain HyPer 9 motors and 10 salvaged Tesla Model S battery packs. These motors develop 350 ft-lbs at the flywheel which will provide 0-60 in under 5.0 second and a top speed of ~125 mph. As most of you probably know, maximum torque from the electric motors occurs at 0 RPMs and remains flat beyond 4,000, so acceleration is brisk and near constant.

The car will have a cruising range of over 200 miles. While the battery packs will add ~550 lbs, losing the engine, radiator, exhaust system, fuel tank and fuel will save several hundred pounds. Net, the electric roadster will be about 300 lbs. heavier than the gas equivalent. The long cruising range results from using a subset of batteries designed for a 5,000 lb. Tesla.

Looking forward to talking with you all. gw

·
Registered
339 Posts
My guess is that some of you might find this interesting while many will find using an electric motor in a roadster blasphemous.
Nonsense! I love nostalgic automotive (although I'm likely one of the younger guys on this forum @ 36) but ignoring new technology is stupid. At one point, a 4-barrel carb or an MSD distributor was the "new tech". As long as it doesn't detach me from the raw driving experience, I'm game and what's not to love about instant torque?!

I'm excited to follow the build .. post frequently!

·
Registered
58 Posts
This sounds awesome. Your car, your way!

Can't wait to see what the wiring and control system looks like. Will this be front wheel drive? I know almost nothing about electric cars haha.