Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
FFCobra Craftsman
767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there's machinists and hobbiests on here...

I'm looking into building/buying a desktop CNC Mill, but can't seem to find something that has what I want.

I need 18" X and Y movement. Most setups seem quite limited on the Y axis. PC based setup, not a huge standalone system. 1/4 hp motor should suit me. It's for steel or aluminum sheets, no more than 1/8" thick.

I don't mind building it if I have a kit. Anyone out there know of one? I was thinking of buying one of the MAXNC kits, and building my own table. I have access to a machine shop, bridgeport verticle mill etc.

Can anyone give me some direction on reasonably priced kits and plans? Or if someone makes this in a sub $2k prebuilt setup? I figure I can build it for $800-$1000 if I have some sort of idea on how to set it up, or if I have some plans.

-steve in nj-

·
7,842 Posts
I am a machinist by trade and have never seen a small machine like that, that would cut steel or even mild aluminum. they just dont have the stength. they are more for demo purposes than anything else. My company bought a small machine that is basically a 3 axis CNC bridge port. Very nice but still limited. A friend of mine built one of those table top CNCs and said it wasnt worth the money. IF you do come across something let me know. I would be interested myself.

·
Charter Member
483 Posts
I have a shoptask Mill / Lath. It can take 3 stepper motors to turn it into a CNC system. Check out www.shoptask.com

FYI - I am an EE, so I installed the motors for "FUN" but have not compleated the move to CNC.

·
FFCobra Craftsman
767 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Went looking on that site and found:

http://www.shoptask.com/customerproject4.htm

Incredible.

The thing is, I'd imagine the entire motor assembly I can buy to suit my needs. It'll be right next to a 220 source.

I was figuring the end product would look something like: