Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys and gals,

I’m pretty new to the online Cobra community. I recently joined this site, the other Factory Five forum, and the Club Cobra forum.

No offense, but Club Cobra seems to offer the largest “wealth” of information, especially in regards to trying to build the most authentic and original looking replicas possible; not that there haven’t been some awesome efforts made and documented here, but there’s just so much MORE of it over there.

But I can’t even post at the Club Cobra forums. I PM moderators and don’t get replies. I post in the few sub-forums that allow me to (like the new member intro area) and don’t get any replies, and then I go to log in this morning only to find that they’re down again, entirely...

One of the biggest things that drew me to those forums was that they’re a wealth of a Weber carburetor info. In fact, they have (had?) a whole sub-forum dedicated to Weber Tuning. But it seems like they’ve lost a lot of traffic in recent years...which makes me wonder where all that traffic went? Is there another Cobra forum that has the same type of original car membership?

I don’t even have a Cobra yet. I plan to order a 289 FIA kit in the next year or so...either F5R or ERA; in the meantime, the motor I am going to use for that kit resides in my ‘68 Mustang, and I am in the process of converting it to an original type Shelby manifold and 48 IDA’s, and I need to find some help. There were a lot of folks advocating the DIY approach over at Club Cobra, as opposed to just shelling out double-dollars to Jim Inglese. So I ordered all the parts and now the site is down. Anybody have any advice for somebody in my shoes?

Thanks,

Casey

·
Premium Member
17,803 Posts
CC can be a bit spotty. There have been some rumors that it was going to close down soon. You are correct, that would be a tremendous loss of knowledge if it does.