Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will have my body off for paint in about a week so it is time to finish the interior. The manual says to use 3m super 77 adhesive for the carpet but I am concerned that this will be messy since it is an aerosol. I was considering using Weldwood contact cement from Menards and use a small roller and brush to apply. Has anyone used this contact cement and has it held up? I will be putting a layer of EZ Cool down and then the carpet. Thanks

· Lay posi
1,223 Posts
I used HENRY 663 Outdoor Carpet Adhesive. Lowes used to carry it, but now they only carry carpet glue without VOC's. I did a test between the non-VOC from Lowes and the HENRY 663 and it was no comparison the 663 is way better. I had to order the last bit for my car online since Lowes stopped handling it.

Wibby

· Registered
523 Posts
I do upholstery (well, corporate job now...trimmer by trade)
I buy landau contact adhesive by the 5 gallon can. It sprays from a primer gun.
My suggestion is to call a local shop and ask how much for a quart of it...go buy a quart paint can and fill it up. It works ten times better than spray adhesive. Then buy a $15 harbor freight primer gun.

I pay $100 for a 5 gallon can...I have sold quarts before for $20....I wouldn't see why a local shop wouldn't do something like that for you....a quart is probably equal to 8 of those cans and goes on thicker.

· Junior Charter Member
650 Posts