Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a newbie to the GTM. Looking at building one in the not too distant future. Has anybody looked at using a Chrysler 300M transaxle for the GTM? I have a 300M w/85K miles on it and the transaxle has been very good (no problems).

·
Registered
33 Posts
Seriously? You are a Continent and several languages away from your transaxle. Even if, Chrysler and Chevy don't make friends.

Hello, I am a newbie to the GTM. Looking at building one in the not too distant future. Has anybody looked at using a Chrysler 300M transaxle for the GTM? I have a 300M w/85K miles on it and the transaxle has been very good (no problems).

·
Premium Member
11,433 Posts
That is a transmission...not a transaxle, unless I'm missing something here. Besides that, I don't think I've ever seen the words "Chrysler" and "Transmission" used in the same sentence without being followed by "rebuilt" or "broken". Honestly, as I sit here, I can't think of a single person I know who owns a Dodge/Chrysler vehicle of any kind who have not had to replace the transmission.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It is refered to as a transaxle, the car is FWD, but the engine is north-south, not transverse (east-west). I think the Plymouth Prowler used a version of the same transaxle in a RWD configuration.

·
Still broke & dreaming...
2,205 Posts
The Chrysler family of LH vehicles (Intrepid, 300M, Condorde) used the 42LE transaxle. This transaxle is probably (IMO) the weakest part on these vehices with the exception of the 2.7 liter V6 that they most commonly paired it up with. I've seen a couple turbocharged 3.5's with a little over 320hp and at the crank. The 42LE does not hold up to them for long. The engines didn;t either...

I have an Intrepid with the 42LE and nearly 200k miles on it behind a 2.7 motor. It's definitely NOT built with performance in mind. Look elsewhere.