Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a digital copy of the most recent FFR build manual (rev 4b) and will have the manual that comes with the kit. I've been reading the forums for a few years now, picking up all sorts of hints, and I'll also be searching for forums for each major system as I work on it to see about suggested changes or things to watch out for. The rub is that the search engine can be a bit non-selective, and the FAQ area is a bit dated.

Without wasting too much of your time, what would be the most important things to pay attention to through the build or what things were wrong/incomplete in the build manual that need to be attended to?

Even just a few hints for search topics would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Nathan

·
Well Used Member
240 Posts
I'm a newbie around here, but this is how I got started. Found a few "build threads", and without any real project in mind, just read and paged through them. I like the CDXXVII, Dale, and edwardb's threads, but there are many more. Just took my time and didn't try to absorb all at once, just did some (a lot actually) liesurly reading and learning. Had a yellow legal pad handy, and took notes, identified issues, compiled suppliers, addresses, etc. My computers are old, and really slow in these forums, so I wish it were a quicker process, but that's just the way it is. Probably 4 or 5 times more hours reading the forums than actually wrenching on the car.

Good luck.

Reactions: silver_pilate

·
Registered
344 Posts
Some quick tips, don't install the F panels first, they get in the way. Drill a few location holes for the cockpit aluminum, then pull them and run all the brake and fuel lines before reinstalling the floors.

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
Sheet Metal