Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after reading that these cars frequently have too much front brake bias when using the factory prop valve this is what I was thinking.

I have a 95 cobra master cylinder which I believe is directly proportioned at the outlets 1:1 front to rear. Normally the stock prop valve would then adjust the bias front to rear. So my plan is to delete the factory prop valve altogether and run 1:1 front to rear bias with the 95 cobra dual piston 13" brakes up front and 11.65 single piston rears.

If that results in too much rear brake bias, I can add a prop valve to bring down the rear a touch. But I'd rather do that then add a prop valve to the front and the factory prop valve.

Thoughts on this setup appreciated.

·
FFCobra Fanatic
2,600 Posts
With what you have, add HP+ pads to the rear. You may or not need an adjustable prop valve then.

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
Along with the better pads as recommended make sure you corner balance the car.

George

·
Registered
2,056 Posts

·
Registered
739 Posts
Why not keep the ABS system from the 95 Cobra? With the exception of a professional driver on a known surface (none of which apply here), the ABS system will brake more quickly and safer. I plan to keep the ABS in my build.

It doesn't apply to you, but for those builds using 99+ GT brakes all the way around: The 94-98 cars got a different front brake caliper with less piston area. Why not install these calipers instead of the PBR calipers? That would effectively reduce the front bais, and could still allow you to fine tune the bais with different pads.

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Seems like most people replying here, missed the part about ditching the factory prop valve resulting in 50/50 bias.

This should result in too much rear brake bias... how would adding grippier rear pads help??

·
Registered
3,619 Posts