Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
FFCobra Craftsman
2,076 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I guess since I've never done this before, and people are always asking what it's like, I'll update occasionally as I go on the bodywork.

I already filled the ground out seams with the 3M High Strength Repair Filler. Nothing special there youre not trying to get it above the surface of the body, just fill the huge line left from grinding out the gel coat.

Today I taped off the seams, did the first layer of Rage filler, sanded it down, wiped it down with PrepsAll, and taped it again (this time wider), in preparation for the second layer and hopefully a nearly perfect feathering with the body. I've heard a third layer is usually needed to get it perfect, so I'm expecting to do three. We'll see what happens by the time I get there.

Here's the pics of today's results, and the tools used:

There is a high res pic available temporarily at this link for those of you who want a closer look (or you experts who want to tell me what I did wrong)

High Resolution Seam Pic (about 700k)

·
Premium Member
12,393 Posts
Your post reminded me that I'm a little confused about something. FFR says that the seams are so prominent because they gelcoat the mold before they assemble it. So, once that big gelcoat zipper is removed, how much deeper do I have to go to clean out the seams? There is a point at which there is a danger of ending up with 6 body pieces on the floor, and I don't know if that point is before or after all the gelcoat is out of the seam.

·
Mountain Snake
701 Posts
As far as I understood, the body is one piece. Not six pieces "glued" together. The seams are only the places, where the mold pieces are put together.

Stefan

·
Premium Member
12,393 Posts
Duh...I know the body is one piece. But grinding down into the seams too deeply will quickly make it six pieces. How deep is deep enough?

·
FFCobra Craftsman
2,076 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·