Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
577 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the best carb for a 345 hp Ford Crate 302 Engine? I am thinking about 650 cfm Holley 4150 Double Pumper with a electric choke. Before I bought one, I wanted to ask the forum.

Thanks,

Killer

·
Senior Charter Member
594 Posts
I'm not an expert by any means but I think you're in the right ball park with the 650 cfm.

I'm going with edelbrock b/c I've read that they are easier to deal with.

·
Going nowhere fast.
19,728 Posts
Car Craft tried several set ups with this engine and settled on the following:

To set a benchmark, we bolted on a FRPP high-rise dual-plane intake (PN M-9424-E302, which is basically an Edelbrock Performer RPM) and tested several out-of-the-box carburetors on it before settling on the best performer—a 625-cfm Road Demon, which made 370 hp at 6,000 rpm and 358 lb-ft at 4,100 with the stock jetting. The air/fuel ratio was perfect as delivered and the only change we made was to swap a lighter spring into the vacuum secondary pod to ensure the throttle bores opened fully during the dyno pull.

Baseline testing was done with a set of Hedman Hustler 15/8-inch-primary long-tube headers for an early Mustang, flowing through Flowmaster mufflers with 3-inch tubing—Westech’s standard dyno setup.
http://www.carcraft.com/techarticles/55999/

They found this setup to produce even more power than dual 4-barrels.

Mike

·
Charter Member
6,152 Posts
That is a good choice with a B cam. Or you could go with the Road or Speed Demon 650. I have a 302 300hp with a X cam and Mighty Demon 650. I think a Speed Demon would be more approriate with the B cam. Goto the Barry Grant website and they have a spec sheet to match your engine too.

·
Registered
130 Posts
I have the same engine with the E-302 Manifold. I have the 670 Holley Street Performer; no problems; runs great, good driveability makes good HP. My $.02

·
Registered
3,408 Posts