Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Senior Charter Member
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm going with a 351 Cleveland, I've got to make my own headers. I picked up flanges with stubs, a bunch of j-bends, and Hooker's alignment sleeves. Although I've seen it done on shows like MuscleCar and in a CarCraft article, I've never built headers before.
Just wondering if anyone had any tips before I dive in.
Thanks.

·
Senior Charter Member
6,800 Posts
65cobrabob,

I made a set for my old LAE, with an FE 390, several years ago.

I took careful measurements and made detailed drawings of each tube from the header flange to the 4-into-4 connection to be able to make accurate cuts for each bend and straight piece.

My objective was to have equal length tubes from the header to the collector at the side pipe, and follow the availaable routing space with the tubes.

My original side pipes had 1/4" plate flanges. The mass of the flanges was a big heat sink and caused several cracks in the tubes.

I cut off the flanges, took the side pipes to a muffler shop and had the tubes expanded for a slip fit so the new header tubes would go inside the side pipe tubes.

Three of eight tubes split when expanded. They were easy to re-weld and didn't pose much of a problem.

I fitted the new tubes from the header flanges to the new expanded side pipe tubes and put small tabs, running parallel to the center of the tubes, on each so that I could have a # 10 bolt connect the two tabs together.

After the welding, and filing of the welds, I had the headers ceramic coated. I got a discount from their origonal quoted price because I had done so much prep work on the welds.

The only supports for the new system were the header flanges and a muffler support about mid way down the muffler part of the side pipe. When the tubes were all plugged in and the connecting bolts installed the new pipes worked, and sounded, very well.

·
Registered
72 Posts