Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Victory is ours! Fite4it!
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys, I'm new to the form and to the 4.6L's. I just got a 2003 Mach 1 salvage with 18,000 miles on it for my donor. I dont really want to tear into the engine because of the low mileage (also because I'm not terribly familiar with them). Does anyone have any good advice as to what I can do to get some extra ponies out of it? Nothing outrageous, but more of simpler bolt-on power upgrades I can make to it while the engine is out of the car. Also, not sure as to the type of 5-speed it has in it (I think it may be a TR-3550), but is there anything simple that can be done to the tranny as well (ie. type of short-throw or anything else)? Obviously, I'll be pulling none-essentials off like A/C and anything else I can find.

Also, is there any way to use the steering column out of the Mach 1 in my FFR Mk3.1? I'd like to keep features like the tilt, anti-theft ignition, high beam, washer and wiper, and turn signals on the column.

Any advice here would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
Alex

·
FFCobra Craftsman
3,355 Posts
Pulleys are the only thing that come to mind.
Don't get too caught up in the "numbers" The engine came out of a car that was impressive. Your putting on a cold air intake, a better flowing exhaust, and dropping 1000 lb.
I have 1999 cobra engine with 3:73's in my go-cart. All I can say is WOW.
I'd hold off on the shifter. You can do that MUCH later. Spend the money some where else.

Search PATS to answer your anti-theft ignition question. If you want PATS it may limit your wire diet options. You could use the mustang turn signal switch mounted under the dash for everything but self canceling turn signal. I got mine from Russ and LOVE it.

Last tip: If your going with 4 into 4 FFR headers be sure to bend the dipstick tube BEFORE you put the engine in.

·
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #3