Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there... I'm brand new to the FFCars community and my father & I are starting our journey through the build of our very own Mark IV... hoping to start this coming winter. I was hoping to get some advice and guidance on a few questions we have... the first of many, I'm sure!

We're on a fairly modest budget and looking to build pretty much a standard Mark IV with no major upgrades (i.e. no IRS, no ABS). Looking for a project that'll be fairly simple to do and a resulting Mark IV that we can drive often and not for the track at all.

Hopefully the following makes some sort of sense... but it could be quite likely that I'm entirely off base!! :001_smile:

Our original plan was to purchase a Mark IV Base Kit and then use a '98 GT 4.6L donor car to complete the Mark IV. I started putting all the numbers together to estimate our overall costs using the donor with the base kit. Aside from the extras we will need/want (tires, wheels, body cutouts, powder coated chassis, visors, wings, heater, passenger roll bar, etc)... we also estimated costs associated with the donor, such as the steering rack adapter, replacing the rear axle (to be able to use the FFR 15" Halibrand Replicas w/o the ABS) and sending out the wiring harness to get trimmed down for us. We were then going to sell whatever was left of the '98 GT to recoup a small bit of money.