Factory Five Racing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been having a problem with a new 2015 gen2 Coyote crate engine. The engine starts and idles fine. That said, after depressing the accelerator pedal, the engine revs for 1-2 seconds and then goes into limp mode (remains at idle without any further response to gas pedal). I have been working with Ford Engineering since July of 2019 without any resolution. I have sent my PCM, MAF and all wiring to Ford where they hooked everything up to a stand mounted engine...everything checked out OK. Ford updated all programming in the PCM and sent everything back to me. I reinstalled all of the hardware and I am still experiencing the same problem. I rechecked the wiring between the Throttle Body and PCM as well as the APP (gas pedal fitting) and PCM and all wires indicate appropriate ohms/continuity.

I have had to cancel sending this car to Temecula so Jeff Miller can perform his magic 2X now and I am beginning to get concerned that it might be another summer without the car. Mark Dougherty has also been to my house to assist with some other final checks but we could not get the engine out of limp mode. Mark Dougherty (The Traveling Builder) is terrific by the way....highly recommended!

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
5,904 Posts
This is the crate motor with the Ford Performance control pack? I assume the MIL is on? What codes do you see when reading the ODB2 port? I can't say how Ford has the crate motor calibration programmed, but limp mode typically limits RPM, shuts off non-essential accessories, etc. But shouldn't disengage the accelerator. I wonder if that's really the state it's going into, versus some type of outright failure. Regardless, if not working normally should see some kind of trouble code(s).

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3