Factory Five Racing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
*My dad (who bought the kit) called it MK 1.5 since it was kind of in between I and II transition

I am new to this world, so learning as I go. However, I need new tires and want to upgrade to 17" wheels to give me more options for tires. The car was built from a 89/90 donor Mustang and it has a 4 lug (4 1/4) bolt pattern for the 15" wheels. I know it seems like more options exist for 5 bolt pattern wheels but if I can avoid the extra expense I'd like to see if anyone has found any 17" 4 lug wheels that will work for this Cobra. Initial thoughts are 17x10 rear and 17x9 front (I know FF recommends 10.5 only for Mk 3/4 but it looks like I have room as the current tires are 275/50 so I think I have room.

Any advice on how to be certain on wheel sizing (offset/backspace) and also 17" wheels that work for this 4 lug setup?

Thanks...

·
Charter Member
1,103 Posts
Look for 87 - 93 Mustang 4-lug wheels. There are lots of options. Finding a 10" wheel may take some searching though. I noticed lmr has Cobra R wheels in 8", 9", and 10" widths. Good luck finding just the right set for what you like, there are many choices. One of the modifications you should be aware of is the wide wheel mod to the MK I and II chassis. Without the mod you will be limited in how side you can go in the rear. If you're OK with the 275 tires you have currently then there is no need to be concerned.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·