Factory Five Racing Forum banner

My LS powered Roadster

12K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Mountain-Metalworks 
#1 · (Edited)
I have been building this car since June 2017. I just got it titled and licensed. The engine is an aluminum block LS1 from a C5 corvette. I installed a GM hot cam, Holley Sniper intake and throttle body. I used corvette spaced accesories, including the corvette power steering pump. I had to change to a smaller power steering pulley to clear the steering shaft. I used fox body mustang conversion mounts to easily bolt the LS into the FFR frame mounts with no welding. I did have to add 1/2 inch spacer so that the holley oil pan would be above the frame rails. I had enough room to mount a full size Optima battery in front of the crank pulley. I connected a GM spec TKO600, using a FFR driveshaft to a 2015 IRS. I am using Silverado headers pointing forward to connect to custom undercar exhaust. The car is tuned with HP Tuners with no MAF.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Nice job. The LS engines are absolutely killer. IMO, it is the best street engine out there. Makes a great race motor, too.

#3 ·
Here is a side photo to show the undercar exhaust. This was done with spintech oval pipe and square mufflers. I have 3.75 inch clearance at the lowest point of exhaust, with the frame sitting at 4 inches. I have no heat issues with the mufflers under the seats. I do have insulation on the inside of the floor.

Attachments

#4 ·
Thanks Bob. I agree. I love the LS engines and have had them in a few Corvettes. It is a nice compact, light weight engine and makes plenty of power for an FFR. I may still put a Vortech supercharger on this one, but the power already seems plenty sufficient for this car.

#5 ·
I may still put a Vortech supercharger on this one, but the power already seems plenty sufficient for this car.
Ha HA, that's a good one. There's no such thing as too much power, only not enough control.

#6 · (Edited)