Hydraulic clutch-opinions? - FFCars.com : Factory Five Racing Discussion Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
FFCars Captain

Hydraulic clutch-opinions?

I am almost at the stage of mounting the clutch and transmission and I figure there is no better or more convenient time to add the hydraulic clutch, but I am curious what everyone's experience is with it. Any opinions, for or against, are welcome.

Thanks.

Steve K
FFR#3906
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 01:20 PM

I bought the slave cylinder kit from Daze: https://www.dazecars.com/dazed/TestT5kit.html

Then I got a wilwood master cylinder from Summit and a pre-made hydraulic line from them too, and an extra reservoir from FFR.

Wasnít very expensive to do, and the wilwood pedal box from FFR was designed for a 3rd master cylinder so everything just bolted up essentially. I never messed with the cable clutch so I have no experience to compare the two, but the hudraulic clutch feels exactly like the one in my daily driver jeep.

MK IV # 8639 Delivered June 2015 - SBF 347 w/450hp, FITECH 30002, Levy SA T5, 3 Link w/ 3.55's, cobra discs, manual brakes/steering
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 01:51 PM
Charter Member
FFCars Craftsman

I have had issues with my clutch in the past and wanted to go hydraulic and as a last effort bought a really good cable from Maximum Motorsports. It’s like butter now. Can’t see how hydraulic could be any easier and I have driven many with one.

Just a thought

FFR# 3247,3535,3730,3951,4338, and 5665
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 09:38 PM
FFCobra Craftsman