Small Garage Tour and Body Buck - FFCars.com : Factory Five Racing Discussion Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2016, 04:19 AM Thread Starter

Icon20 Small Garage Tour and Body Buck

Well, I was able to finish modifying the body buck I was given, and I tweaked my chassis dolly. Since I took a few pictures, I thought I'd give a quick tour of my little garage. It's not much, but here it is.

This is an attached single car garage that we built primarily to be my workshop when we built the house. I have been making knives as a hobby for the last 12 years or so, so I have had to consolidate some tools and squeeze things around.

Here is my compressor and grinding table. The little disc on the left is a precision flat disc on a 3/4 hp motor, and the machine on the right is a 2 hp, 2x72" KMG that is a metal hog with platen and 10" and small wheel attachments. They are both fully variable speed running off of a sealed VFD under the table.

Here's the drill press and one of the work benches with a precision granite surface plate and my metal brake on the floor.

Here's my collection of goodies so far including wheels, seats, and miscellaneous upgrades. And of course, a laptop with the required FFCars reading selections. Also my metal cutting bandsaw set up for vertical use.

The main work bench.

The heat treating area and metal stock rack with my Evenheat oven. It will hold 2200F within +/- 5 degrees for however long you'd like. There is also a liquid nitrogen dewar behind it and assorted quenching oils in front. I've got a crap ton of W2, 52100, CPM 154, and W1 on the rack below the oven.