Engine dies when coasting in gear - FFCars.com : Factory Five Racing Discussion Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 10:29 PM Thread Starter
active

Engine dies when coasting in gear

Hi everybody. Its good to be back on the forum.
I have a MKIII DOHC I have been driving since 2008. After a 3 year ordeal with the paint job (got it done, and then stripped and then re-done) I'm on the road again. The car runs great and sounds great. Except for one small thing. I used a manual speedo gear & cable and I have no electrical connection from the trans. When Im coasting down in gear, and then push in the clutch, the engine dies unless I "blip" the pedal. This has been an issue since day 1 of driving the car. Ive learned to live with it since I am now very good at timing the gas pedal "blip".

But; I want to fix this now so my car has no "bugs" in it. As I recall there is a solution to this that was posted some time ago but now Ive lost it. Any 4.6 builders out there who have encountered and solved this? Or, can re-post the thread?

4.6 DOHC, first start 10-15-07, sounds great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 04:41 PM

this is going to sound crazy but it worked for me and others. I had the mass air flow sensor in the three oclock position (looking across engine from driver side) and mine stalled 1 in 5 times when coasting. A quick google search and i was instructed to rotate the sensor to the 12 oclock. sounds weird but 10k miles without a stall. heard that a new tune helps but i didn't need to go that route

Attached Images
File Type: jpg wiley.jpg (71.0 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg power.jpg (238.0 KB, 16 views)

MKIV 7785
coyote 302
tko-600
wilwood brake upgrade
delivered 4/12
engine in 6/14
first start 09/14
go-cart 09/14
paint 6/15
legal 7/15
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 06:50 PM
Unconventional Builder

Garage